BLOG TOUR AND REVIEW – The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl

The Forgotten Secret

A country at war

It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.

And a long-buried secret

A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.

For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence. 


Purchase Links 

UK  – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3

US  – https://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3

Katie’s ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Review:

The Forgotten Secret
By Kathleen McGurl
4 stars
Reviewed on behalf of 3 Degrees of Fiction Book Blog

The Forgotten Secret was really enjoyable read which had me intrigued the whole way through. I really like historical fiction and this book was a great example. It is also the first book that I have read by this author and I really enjoyed her detailed writing style. I loved the dual timeline to the story and at first I wondered if I would be lost and confused but I wasn’t at all, her writing was just seamless. The author did an amazing job with keeping everything really easy to read. There were times when I felt like I was watching a period drama not reading a story and this is what I love about historical fiction. The story was so easy to lose myself in and I did that many times. I loved the characters and found them to be both likeable and believable. 
I absolutely recommend this story to lovers of historical fiction and also maybe to people who are looking for something different to read. The authors’ writing was excellent and I would absolutely love to read more from her again in the future. 

Author Bio – 

KATHLEEN MCGURL lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.

Social Media Links – 

Website:  https://kathleenmcgurl.com/

Twitter: @KathMcGurl  https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kathleenmcgurl/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s